The Importance of Closet Organization

closet     When someone loves clothes as much as I do having a killer closet is a must. I’ve been blessed with the most amazing walk in closet at home. While I am living at school the options have been sub par but I have a specific way to organize my closet to keep all my clothes relevant and easy to find.

First I only use velvet not slip hangers for all of my clothes. It becomes a pain when cardigans and strappy shirts constantly fall off their hangers and the fabric hangers make sure clothes keep their shape since there is minimal drooping. Second I separate my closet into sections. Sweater, cardigans, button-ups and long sleeves in one section, sweat shirts and jackets in another section and pants and skirts in a final section. This makes sure I know exactly where an item I am looking for will be located. Lastly everything is color coordinated. My mom always yelled at me when she saw my closet it high school, I had everything everywhere and I could never find what I was looking for. That all changed after two events; I went to college, where closet space is at an all time low, and I got my first job in retail at Michael Kors. I had to color coordinate all bags, shoes, wallets and clothes at all times. It started to become natural to start with white and nude then go to red and so on until the end color was black. This may sound like a huge waste of time but in all honestly having my closet color coordinated was the best thing I ever did. I can put together outfits in a snap since I know what color I am feeling for the day and what will go with it. This also helps me keep track of my clothes and what I am buying. If one section looks a little thicker than the others I know to lay off buying anymore blue sweaters.

My closet is probably my favorite room in my house but even here at school it holds my favorite outfits so I need to keep it clean. Having an organized closet helps your morning routine run smoothly while displaying the beautiful options you have to wear. I hope my tips will help you get on your way to your dream closet!

xoxo

Chay

 

Leave a comment